College Opportunity Fund
In May 2004, an act of the Colorado state legislature established a new way for the State of Colorado to provide state tax-dollar support for higher education at the undergraduate level. The state is no longer appropriating monies to institutions for undergraduate educating, but instead is providing direct funding to undergraduate students through the College Opportunity Fund (COF).
This program, also known as “vouchers” or “stipends,” allows resident undergraduate students to request that COF vouchers be applied to their university bills. This can reduce your bill. You can apply for COF on the College Assist website and you can authorize COF in the student portal. You are able to authorize COF each term or you can choose “Life Time” authorization at UCCS. Detailed instructions on how to apply for and authorize COF can be found on the UCCS Bursar’s website.
Current information with specific details regarding COF vouchers can be found on the UCCS COF question and answer website. Details of the COF program are determined by the Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE) and the College Assist Program. Updated details are also available at https://www.cusys.edu/ums/cof/faq.html and https://cof.college-assist.org/COFApp/cofapp.
The Board of Regents reserves the right to change tuition and fees at any time.
Tuition rates for Fall 2014 are published on the UCCS Bursar website.
Expenses for students attending the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs vary depending on tuition classification, student level, program of study, student fees, course fees, and housing choices (on or off campus) and other differences. Textbooks and course materials are an additional cost. A student’s total bill can be estimated using the bill estimator website maintained by the Bursar’s Office.
Payment of Tuition and Fees
Payments and Balance Due Dates
Students must pay tuition in full by the first due date of the semester (see Schedule of Courses) or enroll in a deferred payment plan. Students covered by a third-party contract, including veteran’s assistance, should contact the Student Financial Services Office to determine if any portion of your balance will be owed by you personally. Due dates for payment of balances and deferred payment plan information are contained in the Schedule of Courses. E-bills will be available online approximately three to four weeks prior to due date. Payments must be received at the Student Financial Services Office by the due date. Mail postmarked on the due date will not be honored.
Bills not paid by the appropriate due date will be assessed a prorated late fine up to $50 and will accrue a 1% per month service charge on the unpaid balance (12% APR).
Students receiving financial aid will have tuition and fees deducted from their awards. If the amount of financial aid is not sufficient to pay the entire amount owed, any remainder owed will be due by the first due date, or students may enroll in a deferred payment plan for the balance. Any financial aid in excess of the amount owed will be deposited to the student’s bank account after completion and submittal of a Direct Deposit Authorization form, which is filled out and submitted online via Student Self Service, or refunded to the student by way of a bank warrant mailed to the student’s address on file.
A student’s personal check is accepted for any university obligation, unless the student is deemed to be a poor credit risk. A $20 service charge will be assessed for all returned checks. If the check was for a tuition bill, a prorated late payment fine of up to $50 plus service charges will be assessed if applicable.
It is the student’s responsibility to ensure payment is completed by the established due date. Students who enroll after the last day of late registration/census date must pay a $50 late registration fee plus either estimated tuition and fees in full, or enroll in a two-pay deferred payment plan (see Schedule of Courses) and meet the established final payment due date.
Drops or Withdrawals
A course drop or complete withdrawal from UCCS is effective on the date that the completed form is returned to and stamped received by the Records Office. Any adjustment in tuition is made as of the receipted date by the Records Office.
Refunds and Rebates
Refunds and/or rebates will not be processed until approximately two weeks after the end of the drop/add period. The amount of refund/rebate is determined by the time of withdrawal in accordance with the policy contained in the Schedule of Courses.
Census Date Determination
The census date is the final controlling date for assessment of tuition and receiving a refund for a change in registration (dropped course), as well as requesting the pass/fail option or changing back to a letter grade, and a number of other academic, financial, and registration functions. Census date is the 12th class day of a fall or spring semester or the 6th class day of the summer term. The exact day and date is printed in the Schedule of Courses each semester.
Student Health Insurance
Public Safety and Student Health Building
UCCS offers a group health insurance program to students enrolled in nine (9) or more credit hours as an undergraduate or six (6) or more credit hours as a degree seeking graduate student. Brochures and enrollment cards are available in the Student Health Center. Open enrollment ends on the census date of fall semester.
Student Fees Disclaimer: The Board of Regents reserves the right to change tuition and fees at any time. Questions regarding tuition and fees should be addressed to Student Financial Services at (719) 255-3391.
All students enrolled for courses are assessed mandatory student fees; the amounts and applications are detailed in the following accounts.
Learning Technology Fee
All students pay a $6.00 per credit hour learning technology fee each semester. This fee provides for the purchase of new computer equipment and software that are accessible to all students, the maintenance and upgrade of telecommunication equipment used in all current and future learning centers, and the development of a broad set of informational communication offerings accessible to all students.
This charge is assessed to all students new to the University of Colorado system. It is a one-time charge of $25 and covers the normal cost of transcripts and establishing your university record. The fee is assessed during registration or at the time of initial enrollment and is refundable up to census date if a student completely withdraws from school.
It is the policy of the Colorado Commission on Higher Education that parking for vehicles owned by students, faculty and staff must be funded on a self-supporting basis from special charges made of those owning automobiles and parking them on campus. In accordance with this policy, the UCCS Parking and Transportation Services operation has been established as a self-supporting auxiliary enterprise, RECEIVING NO STATE APPROPRIATIONS from tax revenues. This means that the construction, improvement and maintenance of all parking facilities at UCCS are financed solely through permit sales, parking fines and visitor parking revenue. Annual revenue must be sufficient to satisfy operating expenses and to repay revenue bonds sold to construct parking facilities.
Residential students parking a car on campus receive an Academic Year Resident Permit. The Resident Permit allows students to park in the Stanton Parking Garage and Border parking lots ONLY. The cost of this permit is incorporated into their room and board plan and is issued at move-in during the fall semester.
Commuter students have the option of purchasing a variety of parking permits which allow them to park in various lots on campus. Please visit the Parking & Transportation Services website for current permit offerings and prices. Commuter students not wishing to purchase a parking permit may park free of charge at the Four Diamonds parking lot located at 5025 North Nevada Avenue. Shuttle service to the main campus is provided free of charge to students.
Cars violating parking regulations are subject to ticketing, immobilization, and/or towing. Parking is on a first come, first served basis. Faculty, staff and students should direct all parking or transportation related inquiries to Parking and Transportation Services, located at the Public Safety Building, room 104, or call (719) 255-3528.
Safety and Transportation Fee
The Safety and Transportation fee is charged per student, per semester regardless of a student’s credit hour course load. The fee is $77 for the fall and spring semesters, and $38.50 for the summer semester. Some of the things the student Safety and Transportation fee pays for are as follows:
- Campus shuttles
- Increased hours and service from the campus police
- Emergency phones on campus
- Lighting along roadways and in parking lots
Wellness Center Fee The Wellness Center fee is mandatory for all students. It provides access to all of the services and programs of the UCCS Student Health Center and Counseling Center. The fee is $60 for the fall and spring semesters and $30 for the summer semester.
Student Identification Fee
The fee for a student photo ID is $15 and is a one time fee that is refundable up to census date if a student completely withdraws from school.
Integrated Student Information System (ISIS) Fees
This is a $2 per credit hour fee charged to all students, payable each semester of registration.
The Integrated Student Information System (ISIS) enables the university to provide better service to its students through the maintenance of student records, course scheduling, data management, transcripts, financial aid, student accounts and registration using the student online center.
Student Events/Performance Fee
The Student Events/Performance fee of $4 per semester for students enrolled in more than 6 credit hours and $2.50 per semester for students enrolled in 6 or fewer credit hours provides free access for all UCCS students to all Theatreworks performances and events in the Bon Vivant Theater in University Hall.
Green Action Fund Fee
The Green Action Fund Fee was a student-generated fee and is $5 per semester. The revenue collected from this fee is to be used to install solar panels on campus buildings.
Student Life Fees
$140 Plus $15.35 Per Credit Hour
Every student enrolled for courses will be assessed mandatory student life fees for each semester enrolled. These fees finance the student facilities, programs and services that are not supported by the university’s general fund budget.
The seven Student Life Fees are as follows:
- Athletics Fee ($4.85 per credit hour); this supports six women’s and six men’s intercollegiate sports programs.
- Campus Recreation Center Bond Fee ($80 base); this repays bonded indebtedness on the building as well as support for the intramural, fitness, and open play/use activities.
- Family Development Center Bond Fee ($10 base); this repays bonded indebtedness on building as well as support for childcare operations.
- Family Development Center Operating Fee ($3 base); this supports programs and services.
- Student Activities Fee ($14 base); this supports student organizations, the student newspaper, student government operations and other student activities.
- Student Recreation Fee ($1 per credit hour); this supports recreation programs and activities and campus fitness center.
- University Center Bond Fee ($33 base plus $9.50 per credit hour); this repays bonded indebtedness on the building and supports entertainment, cultural and educational programs, and the Center’s operation.
Academic and Instructional Fees
Refunds for course or instructional fees and deposits for students who withdraw from school are made according to the refund schedules found in the Schedule of Courses for each semester or term of the academic year. A full refund of course or instructional fees and deposits for courses dropped on or before the census date is made to students who remain enrolled for at least one course.
Colleges and Schools may change the fee schedule at anytime without prior notice. For details and a complete listing of specific fees, please see the Schedule of Courses.
The following course, online, program and department fees and deposits are representative of, but not inclusive of, all fees:
UCCS Teach Program Fee–$50.
A program fee of $20 will be assessed to ANTH 3010, 3170, 3190, and 4200. The $20 for ANTH 4200 will only be assessed when it is cross-listed with either ANTH 3170 or 3190. A program fee of $10 will be assessed to ANTH 2220 and 3210. A course fee of $75 will assessed for ANTH 3500.
Anthropology Field Program Fee–$120
Level 1 Program Fee–$10
Level 2 Program Fee–$20
All students enrolling in biology courses with laboratory components (or equivalents) will be assessed a materials fee for specimens, slides, glassware, etc.
Biology 1000-level laboratory courses–$40
Biology 2000-level and above courses–$80
Biology Lab 3 for all Independent Studies Students–$20
All students taking Information Systems or Quantitative Methods courses will be charged a $15 per credit hour fee. Students taking any other course in the College of Business will be charged a $5 per credit hour fee. The maximum fee charged to a single student in a single semester for these fees is $120.
In addition, students enrolled in online courses are assessed a $52 fee per class. Students enrolled in the Professional Golf Management (PGM) program will be charged a fee of $500 per semester; the PGM level 3 checkpoint fee is $875, in addition to certain course fees (PGMT 1000–$5900, PGMT 2000–$1,240, PGMT 3000–$1,140).
There is a total charge of $75 for each laboratory course. Independent study courses are considered to be lab courses.
A $30 laboratory fee will be assessed for each course in TV production and/or film making. Communication 3500 (American Cinema) carries a fee of $20. Communication 4170 carries a $30 fee.
Counseling and Human Services Program Fee–$10
Curriculum and Instruction Program Fee–$10
Leadership Program Fee–$10
Special Education Program Fee–$10
There will be a $100 fee for all online courses.
Engineering and Applied Sciences
All students taking courses in the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences (except courses numbered 7000 and 8000) will be charged a $15 per credit hour fee. The maximum fee charged to a single student in a single semester for these fees is $180. This fee applies to all courses in the college except graduate thesis courses. These fees are nonrefundable and will be used by the departments for inventory renewal. Students are responsible and liable for damage to equipment caused by neglect, improper use, or failure to follow operating instructions. All EAS distance education courses are charged an instructional fee of $100.
All students enrolled in English Rhetoric and Writing and certain other courses will be assessed a $10 fee per course. English 1310 will be charged a $25 fee.
English Writing Assessment/Portfolio Fee–$15
Geology and Geography
Students enrolled in certain Geology or Geography courses will be assessed materials fees.
Geology Field Trip 1 Program Fee–$10 and Geology Field Trip 2 Program Fee–$15
Geography Lab 1–$10 includes GES 1050, 4060, 4090, 4270, 5060, 5090, 5270
Geography Lab 2–$15 includes GES 3200, 4310, 4340, 5310, 5340
Geography Lab 3–$20 includes GES 2050, 3050, 4050, 4080, 4120, 4120, 4130, 5050, 5080, 5120, 5130
Geography Lab 4–$30 GES 4100
School of Public Affairs
All students enrolled in online courses are assessed a $100 fee per class (this fee is non-refundable after census date).
Languages and Culture
Students enrolled in lab courses, and certain other language instruction courses, will be assessed a $10 fee per course. In addition, $25 will be charged for courses with travel.
Letters, Arts and Sciences
Students enrolled in online courses are assessed a $100 fee per class. Students taking courses with field trips may be assessed a $20 trip fee.
Music Level 1 Program Fee–$35 includes MUS 1000, 1010, 1030, 1310
Music Level 2 Program Fee–$35 includes MUS 2010, 2030, 2050, 2100, 2250, 2100, 2250, 2300, 2350, 2400, 2850, 3010, 3150, 3200, 3750, 3850, 4500, 4800
Nursing students taking nursing courses will be assessed a program fee of $10 per credit hour; those in the Health Sciences program will be assessed $2 per credit hour.
Beth-El online courses–$100
Philosophy Program Fee–$20
Physics and Energy Sciences
Students enrolled in lab courses will be assessed various fees.
Psychology course fees–$7 include PSY 2110, PSY 3840
Graduate students in Psychology will be charged clinical experience fees.
Visual and Performing Arts Fees
All students enrolling in any art history (AH), dance (DNCE), film (FILM), music (MUS), theatre (THTR), or visual arts (VA) course will be charged a program fee of $40 per semester enrolled, regardless of how many courses a student is registered for.
In addition, individual courses within the department will have specific fees. Please see the course schedule for these specific fees.
Credit by Examination Fee
Special examinations, given for the purpose of obtaining credit for a course solely through the passing of an examination without otherwise registering for and taking the course, are available to degree students in the university. The fee for each examination is the lower division, resident rate for 3 semester hours, regardless of the number of hours of credit that are awarded as a result of the exam. Credit is Pass/Fail ONLY.
Arrangements for special examinations are made through the Office of Admissions and Records. The fees for the examinations are payable in advance and are nonrefundable.
In cases where the examination is administered for other institutions and the results reported to that institution, the same nonrefundable fee will be assessed in advance. The individual student is responsible for payment.